Submit

Lord-of-the-flies

Wealthy Capitalist

5,750 Points
  • Millionaire 200
  • Entrepreneur 150
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:21 pm
Will have zero credit keep me from renting an apartment? I'm moving out of state and hoping to go directly into an apartment -- I've never tried this before and there's credit checks and earning requirements.

Earning requirements are the other issue -- I won't have a job right away, there's just no way for that to happen. Suggestions/help?

Thanks!  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:25 pm
You will be asked for financial references to prove you can pay. They dont so much care how much you make vs. if you can make your payments. if you have current loans for cars etc. get a copy of your payment history through the bank . or show a statement from your credit card company showing you pay on time every time( helps if it is not just minimum balance) Another great credit/reference is parents if they are going to be helpong till you get a job they can be put on as a guaranteed lessor similar to a co-signer. if you have any other questions feel free to message me  

xxstratus_affectionxx

LovelyMonkey

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 1:35 pm
I would contact some apartments before the move and give your current employment as proof of income, many places are understanding of the just moved to town situation. I lived with the in laws while I job hunted and saved for a deposit. Good Luck!  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 2:07 pm
haveing no credit is way better that bad credit. but it depends on the apartment that you find. my last one is like sweet whatever gimme your money....... only one of my roomates signed a lease and we lived there for 3 years. the place i just moved to wanted paycheck stubs. they wanted to make sure that we made a little more than double what rent was in order to move in.  

InSoMnIaTiC sMoKeR

5,200 Points
  • Beta Citizen 0
  • Beta Gaian 0
  • Beta Treasure Hunter 0

dragonacid16

31,875 Points