Welcome to Gaia! ::

T3h Movie World - Watch Movies / RP / Chat / Games / Preview

Back to Guilds

Nice selection of Movies, good topics and an active friendly community. 

Tags: Movies, Entertainment, Anime, Disney, Action 

Reply T3h Movie World
Movie Themed Wedding Reception

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

IEditYourWorld

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 9:14 am
Hi all.

I'm a bit new to the guild, but that does not mean that I am not a movie lover. In fact, I'm in my last semester of college, majoring in video production. My fiance and I are movie and media nerds, so we decided that a movie and media themed wedding reception would be fun.

One of the biggest influences on our decorating came from a movie theater near where I live. This movie theater uses old film all the time to decorate up the place, so I thought to myself that this might be a good place to get some interesting decorations for my wedding for cheap. They ended up giving me 12 spools of film for FREE!!! I used that stuff in every imaginable way. We cut it up frame by frame to make film confettie (which we nicknamed "film-fettie"), put strips into curls that we can place here and there for some dramatic tension, wrapped around the bottom of the candles on our table centerpieces, you name it, we did it.

We are also using a lot of songs from movies. For example, our first dance will be "As Time Goes By" from Casablanca. Our bridal party will dance to "You've Got a Friend in Me" from Toy Story, my mom and I are going to sing "I'd Rather Be Blue" from Funny Girl, and I'm doing an Uncle/Niece dance rather than a Father/Daughter dance (my dad is not present in my life) and we'll be dancing to "Somewhere Over the Rainbow" from The Wizard of Oz. While we dine, we will listen to soundtracks from popular movies, such as The Godfather, Jaws, Chariots of Fire, Jurrasic Park, Gone with the Wind, and so on.