Welcome to Gaia! ::

The Dungeons & Dragons Guild

Back to Guilds

A Dungeons & Dragons Roleplaying Guild - We have many active games, join requests are checked often, and everyone is accepted. 

Tags: Dungeons, Dragons, Roleplaying, Dungeons and Dragons 

Reply The Dungeons & Dragons Guild
Races question

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Dame Alex

PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 5:52 pm
Hey guys, I'm new to the guild, but I'm wondering something about races. I'm kind of a newbie in D&D, since even though I've played a few campaigns (I started with version 3.5) I didn't know all the rules then and still don't. I've read through the Player's Handbook for 3.5, and I feel like it's all clicking, but there's the question of race.

In D&D v.3.5 there are the standard playable races: humans, dwarves, elves, gnomes, half-elves, half-orcs, and halflings. But I've seen people play quite a few other races over the years (shifters, changelings, cat-people [Felids? Catlings?], Dragonborn, and others). Are you allowed to play these races in any campaign, or does it depend on the campaign, DM, world, etc? If so, what would be the best for a druid? I don't want to be too fancy-pancy or uber powerful, cause that's just boring, but is there a race that would work for a druid? I thought about an elf, but if there's a better one out there...  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 6:03 pm
Depends on the DM and his/her world setting. I have a lot of 3.5 books, and not a single one includes any additional races, so I don't even know where to direct you to look.

Personally, in 3.5, I have trouble convincing myself to playing anything else but a human, so I say go with that, because they are the best race ^-^  

Rain Yupa
Captain

Enduring Member

Seph Baelzara

Dedicated Gaian

12,050 Points
  • Beta Gaian 0
  • Beta Citizen 0
  • Elocutionist 200
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 6:07 pm