Welcome to Gaia! ::

The Suites

Back to Guilds

The most classy, organised, literate general discussion guild on Gaia, with lots of friendly, welcoming members. 

Tags: discussion, literate, friendly, variety, entertaining 

Reply The Suites
Education or Money?

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

This is not a poll
  Nope!
View Results

Nexus Carbuncle

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 4:09 pm
Hey Suites! You've always given good advice, so here goes:

I'm currently in college, a very good one. I spent my entire high school career practicing, so that I'd be able to get a good music education after the poor one I had in high school, and it paid off; five years later (I'm a sophomore) I'm in a world-class conservatory and getting a damn good education. But a damned expensive one.

The school I attend is 50k a year, though, thanks to scholarships and loans, it costs around 32K for me, so that's 128k after four years. Now, my parents can pay that, but it's a serious burden, and I feel incredibly guilty about it. And since I'm a clarinet major, it's not like I'll be able to pay them right away.

So, is it right for me to be getting my dream education, when my parents have to suffer for it? Should I be feeling guility? /:

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 4:16 pm
Obviously they think you are worth it and can succeed... don't waste the opportunity they are giving you smile  

scrub
Crew

wo_nyrmo

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 6:49 pm
If your parents are willing to pay for it then take that opportunity.

Not alot of kids have parents that will pay for such a thing even if they have the funds to do so or can't afford to pay for such a thing and thus the kid is left on his own.