Reply General Discussion
Writing Suicidal Characters

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Todd186

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2010 6:47 am
I've had a story that I've been writing for two years now and at the beginning he's suicidal. But he always has a sense of humor. One of my friends (who claims to be in love with him) says that's one of things she likes. Seeing the funny side of things when, for lack of a better phrase, the s**t hits the fan.

So how would do you, or would you, write a suicidal character? With a sense of humor, or depressed constantly?  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2010 7:52 am
Write him with a sense of humor.

If you go with always depressed, you're writing your character into a cliche right then and there.

Try to branch him out from other characters of his type.  

ecopper12

Todd186

PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2010 10:46 am
ecopper12
Write him with a sense of humor.

If you go with always depressed, you're writing your character into a cliche right then and there.

Try to branch him out from other characters of his type.

I thought that too. I try not write him with too much humor though. There's a point when you should stop joking about shoving a needle into your arm.  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 4:04 pm
I like to find a happy medium, usually.

velvetsophisticate

pythonesque
Crew

Kawaii Fatcat

PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 6:18 pm
✫✫✫
Each character is going to be different.
I like the sense of humor, though. I would see it as being dark and dry.
✫✫✫  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 6:34 am
I tend to make my suicidal characters witty and place some sort of addiction in them. Not drug addiction or anything of the like. Something more fun...like an obsession with not stepping on the lines on the sidewalk. Their sense of humor are usually in between sarcastic and dark. I don't do the characters that are always depressed. It's boring in my opinion.  

The Silver Sundae

VenusRain