Reply Pets & Animals Main Forum
mantis egg cases have been shipped :)

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

imderanged

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2011 3:46 pm
I ordered 2 egg cases Tenodera sinensis or Chinese mantises. The ebay auction says that will hatch 100-400 mantises. I plan on releasing most of them (it is a perfectly legal species to release here and there is already an established population. They are considered a good alternative to insecticides as a means of pest control ) I want to keep maybe half a dozen of the strongest looking specimens. I plan on using deli containers to house each individually. I can get flightless fruit flies at the local pet shop. I would love any advice from other who have raised mantis as this is my first time!  
PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2011 4:06 pm
I think Krissim Klaw should pop up in here any minute xd Good luck! Very interesting creatures indeed.  

Jeeed

Gaian

Krissim Klaw
Crew

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2011 5:20 pm
*Blinks...long stare...* For real, finally another mantis owner in the guild? xd

First thing I'll post is a link to the most active Mantis forum I have happened around. It has wealth of knowledge plus is a great place to look for sellers of various mantis related items, food, and of course mantises. You have to sign up to get full access to the forum but it is free so don't be shy. They have a search feature so you can post in key phrases to look up all sorts of stuff that has been discussed in previous threads. They also have a number of pinned, beginner info type threads. ---> Mantidforum

Chinese mantises are a favorite of mine and they were also my starter species into the mantis world. Deli cups are a popular choice among the hobbyist to mass raise nymphs so no problems there. A lot of people like to hook some screen to the top of the lids though since mantises tend to spend most of their time hanging from there.