Welcome to Gaia! ::

The Suites

Back to Guilds

The most classy, organised, literate general discussion guild on Gaia, with lots of friendly, welcoming members. 

Tags: discussion, literate, friendly, variety, entertaining 

Reply The Suites
Yet ANOTHER thread by Qui, (but a sensible one this time)

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

AquilaLiberum

PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2011 3:10 pm
Hey you guys!
So I've been thinking about something for the past month or 2 and wanted to hear your thoughts. I graduated with a Bachelor's degree in July this year, and I didn't really know what I wanted to do. I'd applied for a Masters degree, but the thought of diving straight back into a year of really hard work without a break scared me and I withdrew my application in August.

Recently, I've been talking to alot of people who have either done postgraduate degrees or are about to start them. A girl I spoke to recently did an undergraduate degree in Psychology and a Masters in Psychotherapy so she's now a qualified shrink! So I've started thinking about vocational courses that are tailored specifically for certain jobs, and I've focused on a PGCE (postgraduate certificate in education). I've always liked the idea of teaching, but wasn't sure when the last applications came around as I was just beginning the final year of my degree.

I've heard the course is really tough, and that to teach you need to be incredibly patient and be able to control the class well. I enjoy teaching people things and explaining concepts to them (for example, one of the main ways I revise is by pretending I'm teaching the material to someone else), but I don't know if I've have the patience, I can only assume it could be developed while doing the actual course?