Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Gabrielle_AnimalLuver
Crew

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 7:11 pm
eek

yup, I started yesterday. I'm an intern at animal 911 which has to be the nicest clinic that I've ever seen. It was renovated only 3 or so years ago and it's all state of the art, and very environmentally friendly. Except the anesthetic machines, those are sooo old school, apparently the vet likes them though. Also, all the pets get CRI of pain meds regardless the procedure.

Today I was 30mins late on account of I ran out of freaking gas crying and my car just totally stalled in the middle of the busy street. I was close to tears and shaking when I finally arrived but was able to collect myself and stop shaking enough to drug two cats and succesfuly place a catheter and intubate the cat. Second catheter I couldn't get and cause a hematoma sad but other than that, it's going okay. One of the techs said I was good at restraint which most students aren't, so that made me feel pretty good.

The techs and even the vets are pretty nice at this clinic. While the clinic itself is huge (complete with daycare and gym) the staff is pretty small so it makes for a cozy lil environment. Two of the vets are newly graduated fairly young so that probably helps too, them being so young they're easy to talk to.  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 10:47 pm
That's awesome! congratulations! Sounds like you really like it there. smile  

Elly_the_lost_penguin

Kipluck
Crew

5,850 Points
  • Beta Treasure Hunter 0
  • Beta Explorer 0
  • Beta Forum Regular 0
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 10:59 pm
That is fantastic!!!  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:20 pm
Yup, I'm starting to like my unpaid internship more than my paid "job". Thing is, the clinic I work at, I'm NOT a tech. After 5 months I still have to get everything checked. I'm only now starting to cut nails.