Submit

Eleiza0250

Shy Genius

12,950 Points
  • PAAANNNTTTSSS 100
  • Millionaire 200
  • Bookworm 100
PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 4:13 am
I work as a desk clerk for my university. Over the summer, I work at two dorms, one is just a regular dorm for regular students, the other is a fancy dorm for only the basketball players. my school is sort of known for basketball, apparently we're really good at it, we've won several championships, but i don't know anything about sports. Anyway. my girlfriend has been coming along to work with me just to hang out in the lobby. I work at night so being alone means i'm much more likely to fall asleep since no one really comes in at night. sometimes I come out from behind the desk to sit with her for a bit, sometimes she comes behind to hug or look at something i'm watching on my computer. i'm always careful, however, to be paying attention in case a resident comes in. yesterday i got scolded/reprimanded/given a severe warning for her sleeping in the lobby, coming behind the desk for brief periods, and for me going out for brief periods because it's "unprofessional," which makes sense, but doesn't stop me from being annoyed. now we're not allowed to have guests over for more than two hours and I'm in danger of losing my job and because my self worth is connected to me having a job this could go sour very soon and very badly. i'm probably over reacting and i know i deserved to be called out on it and my girlfriend feels bad about getting me in trouble, but...i just...need to rant.  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 6:04 pm
I'm sorry to hear work has been a bit rough. I've had friends working late nights like at gas stops, stores, lobbies, etc. and say it's difficult because it's late at night, gets boring, and sometimes even scary and they do like having friends with them. Some bosses don't mind and understand completely, and others - not so much.