Welcome to Gaia! ::

Anime Conventions: The Global Connection

Back to Guilds

A guild dedicated to sharing/discussing conventions, cosplay, anime, and manga from across the world 

Tags: Convention, Cosplay, Anime, Crossplay, Manga 

Reply Photo Section
Cosplay Photography 101

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

smithers456

Captain

Friendly Explorer

9,050 Points
  • Signature Look 250
  • Guildmember 100
  • Citizen 200
PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 7:02 pm
Greetings Everyone,

I have been a Cosplay Photographer since 2009 and have been to 11 Anime / Cosplay cons so far. I have been a photographer in general since I was a kid. I didn't take a lot of photos of people until I started going to conventions.

General tips:
1. Most cons have rules about photography and cosplay. At Youmacon in Downtown Detroit one of the rules is: If you are wearing a Cosplay outfit expect your photo to be taken. Not all cons are like this so keep that in mind.
2. Don't be shy and be Courteous. If the Cosplayer is busy with something important watch to see if they are available later on. Also, always ask a cosplayer if you can take a photo of them. Many are turned off by someone taking photos of them without permission. Try not to take up a lot of the Cosplayers time. They may have set plans just like you do. If they appear open to it feel free to talk to them and ask questions about their outfit, etc.
3. Plan ahead of what type of Cosplay characters you want photos of. Like look around for Cosplayers from a certain series or video game. Most conventions have official photoshoots. Check out the con's guide for locations. I always look for Sailor Moon series and Final Fantasy cosplayers.