Submit

Do you like what you're doing??
Yes
50%
 50%  [ 20 ]
Hell NO!!!
20%
 20%  [ 8 ]
Work is work. . .you're not supposed to enjoy it!
17%
 17%  [ 7 ]
I'll do anything for the right money
12%
 12%  [ 5 ]
Total Votes : 40

HakimsRazor

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 10:23 am
I've been looking for a new job for a year now. I even went to see a career counselor who basically told me I wasn't suited for the job I'm currently doing (duh!) and took a lot of my money.
I'm getting callbacks on my resume and I'm doing 2nd and 3rd interviews but they keep telling me I'm the 2nd choice.

So I'm pursuing HR because I've been doing temp staffing placement for the last 4 years. I'm not crazy about it but I just need to get out of the company I'm working for and out of the staffing industry.

Any suggestions??  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 12:14 pm
My only advice is to just keep working at it and not give up. The job market these days isn't what it used to be. I just got my BS degree and was planning on just getting a job but my job hunt wasn't going very well. So I decided to go to graduate school and get my masters instead. I am hoping by the time I am done the economy will have stabilized and even if it hasn't I will still be better off that I was before.  

Aeternam

Fashionable Duck

Mikiba

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 1:20 pm
Just don't give up. Looking for that perfect job is difficult. I've been working in retail for three years and recently applied to a security call center office job, and I only got a phone interview. After a couple of days, I was told that they passed over me. I'm going to apply again, but it's so discouraging.

Just keep looking. Eventually the right job will come up. It takes a lot of time and determination. :]

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 5:33 pm
HakimsRazor
I've been looking for a new job for a year now. I even went to see a career counselor who basically told me I wasn't suited for the job I'm currently doing (duh!) and took a lot of my money.