Reply Gaian Geezers Guild
Feeling Bad when people think you are new to Gaia Goto Page: 1 2 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

SeanBrig05

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 10:32 pm
Many people think I am new to Gaia because I don't like to use Internet slang. Sometimes, they get mean crying Well, anyway, what does everybody else think?  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 11:19 pm
What's Internet Slang?  

Draconian Pheonix

Keisaku Hakurei

3,300 Points
  • Beta Forum Regular 0
  • Beta Critic 0
  • Beta Voter 0
PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 11:31 pm
1 example of Internet slang is when u talk lyk this instead of spelling out ur words.  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 11:33 pm
There's also acronyms like ttyl (talk to you later) and brb (be right back), or shortenings like "prbly" (probably) and "ttly" (totally).

All in all, internet slang is bad English originating from chat rooms where you have to be a fast typer.  

Keisaku Hakurei

3,300 Points
  • Beta Forum Regular 0
  • Beta Critic 0
  • Beta Voter 0

Corbin Noir

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 11:39 pm
I say most of the acronyms (rofl, fwiw, brb, etc) and I've been on the internet since 96 (and before that, bbses).

People can think whatever they like. 3nodding  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2008 2:19 am
It's the kids that think they invented it all. Short span, no race memory. wink

Internet talk does sound terrible. I have been asked in cards room to be less literate, despite my previous note 'Sorry, but this is how I talk. I'm an adult.'

I think it's funny how kids try to teach me how to RP at chats when or if I comment anything like 'Use dashes also at the beginning of your sentence'. I've been doing that for ten years and from the start I was better at it. And then they are hurt when I tell them how its done better.  

Veddhartha

Faerie KatrinaZ
Crew

Sparkly Fairy

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2008 5:51 am