Reply 16. ✿ - - - Food, Cooking & Baking
Crock Pots and slow cookers?

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

AriaStarSong

PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:31 pm
I love my crock pot. I think it might be the greatest thing that man ever invented.

I'm single (legally, I have a boyfriend, but he's in the air force and far away) and live by myself. I'm a therapeutic horseback riding instructor, so when I get home from work, I am usually physically exhausted. The last thing I want to do is cook. This often means that I will resort to such dinner delicacies as saltine crackers and peanut butter eaten in bed.
But the crock pot. Oh, the crock pot. All it takes is a tiny bit of forethought in the morning, throw some stuff in there, turn it on, and let is simmer all day long. I come home and my apartment smells like amazing and dinner is ready whenever I am. I am totally seeing the appeal of having a wife who has dinner on the table when you get home, and will probably try to do so for my husband someday when I get married (if the schedule works for it). It is the best feeling in the world.

Unfortunately, I don't know a whole lot of things to do with my awesome crock pot, and the few recipes that I have are starting to get old.

Does anyone here ever cook with a crock pot or a slow cooker?

Do you have any recipe suggestions to try?

Please keep in mind, I am about as close to broke as you can be without getting kicked out of my apartment or having the electricity turned off. My food stamps application will hopefully be processed soon... but until then, saltine crackers it is.  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 9:05 am
User Image