Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

pythonesque
Crew

Kawaii Fatcat

PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 8:37 pm

It's hard to avoid cliches now-a-days, I think. There's so much out there, it's impossible not to be compared to another writer. So, my question is, how do YOU try to avoid cliches? Or, how do YOU tweak the to make them more interesting.

I feel like I'm not very good at this, in a general sense. Mostly because once I come up with a clear cut idea, it tends to stick because I feel like I already know certain characters. For example, I was 14 when I began writing seriously. I wrote a lot then, too. So, I came up with the cliche story of a teen destined to be a prophet of a hidden kingdom, yatta yatta. I wrote at least 200 pages for it, probably more. It's full of cliches, but I love the characters because I got to know them.

With my newer stories, I don't have that problem as much (:

PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 9:24 pm
I try to avoid cliche's by identifying what my writing is too similar to and changing whatever I can so that the resemblance isn't so apparant. I've never written directly to a cliche before.

Kind of a lame explanation, but I tend to come up with really strange ideas for stories. (I'm scared of my own brain sometimes) They usually aren't too "cliche"-y except sometimes in minor ways. And the fact that all my main characters tend to be rather apathetic teenage boys. I don't know what that says about my personality, but there you go.  

exdraghunt

FoxyNightPrincess

Lonely Prophet

12,850 Points
  • Bunny Hoarder 150
  • Sunny Side Up 100
  • The Wolf Within 100
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 9:36 pm