Reply Pets & Animals Main Forum
A chicken just died

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

DeeSpark

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 7:39 pm
Ok so one of our 4 chickens is dead. I have very little experience with finding dead pets, so when I do it's... well I guess a pet dying is never a good experience is it?

Mum has just gone on a trip over the weekend, and dad is at work. I fed them this morning, and got three eggs. Went out a few hours later to get the fourth egg. I noticed that only three of the chickens were running around but assumed the fourth was just on the other side of the house. Then Deedee was sniffing in between the coop they sleep and lay in and the wall of our house. Went to see what was there, hoping it wasn't a snake or anything, and there she was. At first I thought she was just resting, but she wasn't breathing. Had to go back into the house for a moment, then came back out, picked her up with a towel, wrapped her in it and she is now wrapped up on the table on our porch. I have no idea what to do with her, working on getting credit to text dad (can't ring him from the home phone, he is at work and won't be able to answer). And I have no idea what to do about mum. I really enjoy keeping these chickens, but to be honest I don't have a bond with them, and I don't consider them MINE like I do with the dogs and the guinea pigs. They are mums, she loves them. Despite not being the most caring person about some pets, she really does care about chickens, she absolutely loves them. We have owned them in the past, but had to get rid of them due to living situations. But we have never had one die on us. I don't want to tell her while she is on her trip.