Submit

the mage-girl

Magical Marshmallow

22,600 Points
  • Magical Girl 50
  • Cat Fancier 100
  • Monster Hunter 100
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2012 7:18 am
I have been writing since I was 11-12 years old, that's been :cough: years now. However I have been blocked for a considerable length of time, partially due to depression.

My mom came to live with me in 2006 after she had a stroke and could no longer live alone.

Some months ago I was sitting down at the computer and she asked me how long I was going to be. I replied, "I don't know. I may do some writing."

My mom sneered, "You're not going to write."

What the hell do you say to that? Do parents even listen to themselves sometimes?

Thank God I'm an adult; I hate to think how 11-12 year-old-me would have reacted to those words coming out of my mom's mouth.

How do you stand up for yourself without pissing someone off?  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2012 7:40 am
Its your house, you can do what you like. You can tell her she can be respectful while living with you or you can find her somewhere else to live. That may sound rude but its rude of your mom to come into your house and belittle something you love to do  

Hon3y_schnucums

Generous Lover

Isis Sister Of Osiris

Lonely Girl

15,250 Points
  • Partygoer 500
  • Supreme Supporter 500
  • Cash Grabber 500
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2012 11:37 am
I've posted it before elsewhere, but even more than being slut-shamed by my own family, the absolute worst was when I was told I wasn't going to get any help to go to college; because according to them I'm going to get pregnant and raise kids anyway, so why bother?  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:39 pm
i have been writing since i was 8 or 9, and my parents have never approved. i have been acting since 7 or 8. my parents have never approved. I have been singing in a choir since i was 11 or 12, my parents have never approved. every school year they tell me this:"next year you wont be doing this s***"