Thaliat Everwood
Captain

Profitable Conversationalist

9,000 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Conversationalist 100
  • Forum Sophomore 300
PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:47 pm
How badly do I suck at anatomy? *facepalm* Well, I'm still learning but here is where I am at working with my tablet on character art and comics and icons.

Samples:
User ImageUser Image

User Image

And the comic sample: http://fav.me/d5j1016

I've got one of those tablets that lets you see what you're drawing right on the tablet's screen so I'm no longer dealing with the disjointed feeling I used to had drawing on one surface while watching another to gauge my progress. It has helped me improve a lot with my digital drawing, although I'm still having anatomy issues in my drawings.

I've got a base sketch I'm drawing out by hand that I'll later import for digital inking, but mostly now sketchbook work stays in the sketchbook, all the stuff I upload on my dA account is purely digital now, as I no longer need to deal with cleaning up scanned sketches or mucked up inking by hand. Sketchbook work is now just for my personal practice and pleasure at this point. I like how much cleaner digital inking looks, but right now I'm inking with a 5pt brush because if I switch to 3pt I can't get my lines to look as nice and dark. I'll get it figured out eventually. Of course, if anyone has pointers, I'd appreciate any advice you have to share!  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2012 4:08 pm
Dude, I don't think your understanding of anatomy is far off! You seem to have it basically figured out, especially for the style you're using; from here you can only keep improving, right? If you're not already doing so I suggest making sure your figure's laid out in form and everything before you add clothes, but if you're already doing that then keep at it, I guess! Haha! 4laugh Always be studying! It's a good thing to do anyway.