Hi girls <3
As of next week (September 2nd) I will start attending
university (which is scary as f-ck, tbh) and I have a
small, tiny little problem - lunch. I don't have too much
money each month so I need tips for quick, easy and
cheap lunches to prepare to take with me. <3 I want
to avoid eating fast food and eating out every day since
that quickly gets expensive.
Erm...it can be a warm meal or a cold one, doesn't matter.
And also preferably healthy with low fat and/or low calorie.
Anyone? ; u ;

Small summary thingy:
- Quick & easy to make (I'm a terrible cook - Doesn't cost too much to make (buy ingredients etc)
- Preferably low fat/low calorie
- Can be eaten either warm or cold

Does this post even make sense? I dunno

Thanks <3  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2013 3:18 pm
Black beans and rice is pretty easy to make, all you need is the two ingredients. I make a big batch, freeze some of it and have some set aside for a week. It is good for most meals. You can always make it into burritos and such pretty easy. I would recommend it warm but about a minute in the microwave and you're good. If you want to make it a little healthier chopping up bell peppers and adding that in when you make it initially is a idea. As an added bonus it is considered healthy. The beans give you filling protein too.

To make it the cheapest, and healthiest, way possible just get a bag of black beans and a bag of brown rice. Soak the bean for about 8 hours or boil for an hour. I find just putting them to boil and hour is pretty easy. Then once the beans are fairly soft add the rice and boil until they are done. Generic works well. If you want you can pick through the black beans and throw out any that don't look like the rest. I never have had any issue though so I usually just rinse and boil.