Welcome to Gaia! ::

The Bible Guild

Back to Guilds

What if Jesus meant every word He said? 

Tags: God, Jesus, The Holy Spirit, The Bible, Truth, Love, Eternal Life, Salvation, Faith, Holy, Fellowship, Apologetics 

Reply The Bible
The christian community is the worst community.

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Friendly Bard

Tipsy Genius

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2017 3:24 pm
I'm not a new Christian.

However, I have never tried to really grow closer and find a personal relationship with God. I'm a programmer and a man of logic so through apologetics I was able to really affirm my belief and begin truly following God. I finally sat down and began studying and meditating upon the Scriptures. Now with that little bit of background out of the way let me explain the title of this thread.

I've found that the Christian community is terrible. With people of the church arguing about ridiculous (denominations) things and people explaining the way in which they 'interpret' the bible..it's mind numbing. It seems to me two things are happening.

1.) Christians are interpreting the bible in a way that is convenient to them and their beliefs.

2.) Christians are choosing to listen to people they hear without doing research for themselves.

I just saw an argument on end-time prophecy where Billy Bob was presenting an argument that a specific word was translated incorrectly. And highly respected theologians, historians and scholars have been wrong for hundreds of years... And many Christians were on his side and believing him. Let me explain why I have a problem with this.