Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

xXRadioactive_CerealXx

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 12:14 am
-okonomiyaki o konomu-
xXRadioactive_CerealXx
This is a thread for questions, not comments.

Also, I still don't understand the whole って thing that I asked about in my post above...can someone try to explain it to me please? The guide wasn't much help, sorry. D:

って has a few different uses. It's a colloquial version of the quotative と. When it's at the end of a statement, it's saying that you've heard something, or that someone said something. For example, I heard a customer at work the other day say 日本語がわかるって about me to someone she was with when I told her that I studied Japanese. Or if you heard someone graduated, you could say 卒業しましたって. You can of course use it in place of と when you put the full sentence (けっこんしたって聞きました - I heard you got married). If it's preceded by an ん though, it just becomes て.

It can also be short for というのは, which gives it a couple of other meanings. If someone were to say a word you didn't understand, you could repeat that word and then say って. For example: "専攻(せんこう)はなに?" "専攻って?" ("What's your major?" "'Major?'"). It's implied that after the って you mean どういう意味(ですか)? Also, I've heard it used this way when one friend was talking about her and some other people doing something and she said みんな about which another person asked, みんなって、だれ?(Who's "everyone"?)

Finally (or mostly, there may be something I'm leaving out), って can be a more colloquial は (again, this is related to the というのは). It's kind of like how は is translated as "As for..." Well you could think of って as being "Speaking of..." Unlike は though, you can put a verb right in front of って. Also, apparently, when it's used like this, what follows って should be some type of expression of judgment/evaluation on the part of the speaker. So something like 友達って学生です wouldn't work, but 友達っていい人です would.